You Ask, We Answer

Thank you to one of our blog readers for being the first to submit a question! Here’s what came in to the comments section:

Question:  “I’m concerned whether the food I feed my children is safe or not. I’ve heard it has chemicals that could be harmful and I wondered if that’s true? I don’t want them eating something that will hurt them.”

The chair of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee, Shelly Thompson, has responded to your question:

Thank you for your question. It is a great question and one that a lot of people have. As a wife, mother of 6, and consumer, I have the same desires as you. I want the safest and best food supply for my family. As a farmer/rancher we want the same:  We want to produce the safest and best food supply for the consumer as well as our own family. We feed our children, and eat the same food you feed your family. Farmers and ranchers don’t have special grocery stores that we shop at. We eat the same food we produce on our farms. I feel so fortunate to live in the United States and have the safest, most abundant food supply in the world. We would NEVER produce anything that would be harmful to our family or yours!

Again, thank you for the question!

We encourage you to submit any other questions you might have about food or farming to this blog and a real farmer/rancher will provide a response.

Learn more about ag families in Nebraska by visiting www.nefb.org. And while there, be sure to connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Leave a Reply

