Ignite Through FFA

FFA logoGrowing up in a rural community, FFA was a staple. I remember looking up to the high school students in their blue jackets with wonder. My elementary partnered with the high school to do the PALS program – where each fourth grader hung out with a FFA member once a month. It was awesome! These were also the high schoolers that would be helping at the county fair, coordinating community pancake feeds and much more. They were igniting our community.

I became an FFA member myself when entering high school. And 5 years later, I look back and realize that FFA allowed me to ignite my passion into a career. I learned a ton about agriculture, even as a farm kid, from livestock judging, to soil judging and how to read a plat book. And I gained first-hand experience in things like public speaking, research, balancing finances, marketing and too many more to name. This first-hand experience is available nowhere else to high school students.

If you missed it, this past week was FFA week – but it’s not too late to ignite! Find your passion and share it! Share your story and ignite others! FFA presented an opportunity for me and thousands of youth to learn, grow and excel – that’s something to celebrate year round!

And while I’m celebrating, I encourage you to reach out to your local FFA advisor and say thanks. Without their hours and hours of extra time driving, teaching and advising students – FFA would be impossible!

Thanks Mr. Hanna!!!

 -Kassi Williams, farmer’s daughter

Leave a Reply

