Meet The Crew by Nebraska Farm Bureau!

Nebraska Farm Bureau has identified nine social media savvy student members to join our Crew. The Crew is a group of Nebraska Farm Bureau student members who enjoy agriculture communication and social media. Together, The Crew will work on reaching a larger audience with pro-ag messages and will help put a face to agriculture through social media in conjunction with Nebraska Farm Bureau. Members of The Crew have access to unique training sessions, such as exploring social media strategies on Capitol Hill.

NFBF is excited to introduce our Crew members to you! For the next year these students will help promote agriculture and rural America through social media posts!

 

Jacob Goldfuss

Jacob GoldfussMy name is Jacob Goldfuss, I am from O’Neill Nebraska and have been passionate about agriculture for a long time. Even though I lived in town, I helped my grandpa on his ranch south of town for as long as I can remember. When my grandpa retired my dad and I bought back some cows and a few bulls and run a small cow/calf operation still today. Agriculture is such a vital part of our everyday lives, that’s why I am so passionate about advocating for it. I love educating and communicating agriculture to people who might not know as much about it as I do. That is why I am currently a sophomore at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln pursuing a degree in Agricultural Education.

I have always tried to get as involved in agriculture related clubs and organization as I could my whole life. I was very dedicated to FFA in High School and donated most of my time to the chapter as I held an office all four years. Now in college, I am the vice president of Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow, on the leadership team for the CASNR Coffee Cup Club, in Collegiate FFA, Collegiate Farm Bureau, and now, the CREW! I look forward to working with Nebraska Farm Bureau this year promoting and advocating for all the Nebraska farmers and ranchers out there through the use of social Media!

 

Victoria Talcott

Victoria TalcottIf I were asked to describe myself I would say passionate about agriculture, creative thinker, and looking to make an impact on the world. I love everything about agriculture, and I especially love educating people about the importance of agriculture in Nebraska and the entire world.

My name is Victoria Talcott. I grew up on a farm near Bennet, NE with my parents, Norris and Lynnet, and my brother, Garret. On our farm we raise corn, soybeans, alfalfa, and cattle. I have always been very active in 4-H. I seriously tried out almost every project from showing livestock to making a babysitting kit. I loved everything about 4-H! I was also very active in my FFA chapter. This year I will be receiving my American Degree in Kentucky. My SAE (Supervised Agricultural Experience) includes farming my own 30 acre farm, my own cattle herd, and working on my parents farm.

I am currently a student at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln where I study Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Communication. I chose this major because I want to express the importance of agriculture to people around the world. I am currently an intern at the Nebraska FFA Foundation. This next year I will be blogging, writing social media posts, and much more as a member of the Nebraska Farm Bureau. I knew this would be the perfect opportunity to start sharing my knowledge of agriculture. I can’t wait to write for you all this year!

 

Laura Lundeen

Laura LundeenHi everyone!

I’m a small-town, Nebraska born and raised, sunset loving, faith, family, and farm girl. I am very passionate about many things, and many of those things have a foot in agriculture; therefore, I am very passionate about agriculture! (Especially its impact on our world through food and other products.)

I grew up on a farm of corn and soybeans near a small town of 750 people. I have a hardworking dad, mom, and older and younger brothers. Although we have never raised livestock, I brought pigs, sheep, and cattle to the county fair. I learned to love farming through my family and the work we do, but when I left for the University of Nebraska at Lincoln, I learned to love it even more. I am studying Agricultural Education and plan to graduate in December of 2017. I did not start out studying ag. The quote, “You don’t realize what you have until it’s gone” came into play for me my first semester of college. After spending 6 weeks of my life having little contact with the industry that makes the world go around, I quickly learned that I did not love what I was studying at that time. It was not long before I decided to switch to my degree to agriculture.

Ever since, my classes and other activities have sparked my love for food and agriculture and I am excited to share. I hope you enjoy learning about ag as much as I do!

 

Haley Ehrke

Haley EhrkeHi everyone my name is Haley Ehrke! I grew up in South Central Nebraska, I am very proud of my roots. I am a farmer’s daughter and very excited to be a member of the Farm Bureau Crew. I am currently a senior in High School and plan on majoring in Agricultural Education next fall. I enjoy spending my time showing cattle, checking cows, spending time with friends and family, biking, and taking pictures. Random fact, my favorite food is steak. On our farming operation we grow corn, soybeans, alfalfa, milo and we have a cowherd.

 

Catherine Jones

Catherine JonesHello Everybody! I am a farmer’s daughter, a sister and granddaughter. I am a freshman at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying agricultural communications. My name is Catherine Jones, I grew up on a farm in the middle of Omaha where my family owns a horse boarding facility, and raises 4H livestock for our urban 4H club. I have had the unique experience of helping urban youth learn all about the agriculture industry and how to be farm tough! Living in the city, I saw all of the urban population’s misconceptions of agriculture’s’ true story. That is how I found my passion, advocating for agriculture and improving society’s agricultural literacy!

 

Cheyenne Gerlach

Cheyenne GerlachMy name is Cheyenne Gerlach and I am passionate about animals. I love riding horses and I’m known as the bottle calf whisperer at my house. I also tame 1,300 pound steers every year for the fair. My favorite sport is showing pigs. I pulled my first pig at twelve. I think the best bonding time is in the farrowing house. I have a voice for agriculture.

 

 

 

 

Rachel Noe

Rachel NoeHey there! My name is Rachel Noe and I’m a senior Agricultural Communications major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. I am a fifth generation Noe to have been brought up on my family’s farm in Spring Bay, Illinois. On our farm, we grow corn, soybeans, cantaloupes, watermelons, hogs, and wheat. Although I grew up working in production agriculture, I didn’t truly appreciate the industry until I started college. I decided to study Ag Communications because I enjoy speaking to others about agriculture and want to give back to the industry that has shaped me into the person I am today. I’m looking forward to the conversations this blog will start, as well as this opportunity to share my passion for agriculture.

 

Emily Puls

Emily PulsI am a farm girl, born and raised. I am from Wakefield, Nebraska, where my family raises corn and soybeans!

Currently, I am at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, studying Agricultural Education in hopes of educating future consumers the importance of the agriculture industry and all the careers linked to it.

My free time is spent helping dad around the farm, reading, watching NCIS, and of course…cheering on the Huskers! GBR!

I want to advocate for agriculture because not only is it a great industry but also people need to know about certain areas like their food production. Creating informed consumers another step in combating misinformation that is so wide spread. Everyone wants to know where their food comes from and I just want consumers to see the hard work production agriculturalist do to keep the food they produce safe!

 

Emily Cumming

Emily CummingI’m not the everyday farmer’s daughter. Born and raised on a family farm in Central Nebraska, I have taken my love for agriculture and found something that I adore. Bees! Who would have thought a grain and livestock farmer’s daughter would find joy in working with honey bees? I sure didn’t!

I started working with bees after I had the push from my parents to take up an activity in agriculture that interested me. I talked to members of the Nebraska Beekeeper’s Association who helped me make my dream of becoming a beekeeper a reality. I am proud to say I have been raising these little delights for three years! I am so excited to share my point of view on agriculture!

Agriculture has had a large influence in my life since I was very little. I may not take part in the same type of agriculture that my family raises and nurtures, but agriculture is agriculture and I am more than happy to participate in the agriculture industry, especially with the all-important honeybees.

I’m Emily Cumming and I am a beekeeper.

Leave a Reply

